Remove organisations from a channel

Slack Connect lets you work with people outside your company in channels. When a project comes to an end, you may no longer need to use one of those channels to collaborate with external people. If the channel belongs to another company, you can leave it by removing your organisation. If your company owns the channel, you can remove other organisations from it. 

What to expect

  • The company that owns the channel can continue using it. Organisations that are removed or leave will keep an archived copy of the channel’s contents.
  • Files added to the channel by people from other companies will no longer be accessible.
  • As long as you remain connected in at least one other channel, people from your companies can continue to exchange direct messages (DMs). Otherwise, they can invite each other to communicate in DMs.

Tip: To end all communication in Slack with an organisation that you’ve been working with, find out how to disconnect.

Leave or remove organisations from a channel

  1. From your desktop, open the channel that you’d like to leave or remove organisations from.
  2. Click on the  details icon in the top right.
  3. Click Organisations.
  4. Hover over the organisation that you’d like to remove and click on the  three dots icon.
  5. Click on Remove, then Remove organisation to confirm.

Note: If your company owns the channel, repeat the steps above for each organisation that you'd like to remove.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners/admins and members with permission (Standard and Plus), org owners/admins and members with permission (Enterprise Grid).
  • Available on paid subscriptions