Disconnect from an organisation

You can disconnect from an organisation to end all communication with them in Slack Connect channels and direct messages (DMs). 

Note: Instead of disconnecting, you can stop sharing specific channels with other organisations, if you like.

What to expect

Depending on the permissions in your Slack Connect channels, here’s what to expect when you disconnect from an organisation:

  • Invited organisations with permission to post, invite and more will retain an archived copy of the channel, but those with only permission to post will not.
  • The disconnected channel will remain usable by the channel owner.
  • DMs will be archived for all participants, with all message history intact.
  • Files shared in channels and DMs by people from other organisations will no longer be accessible.

 

Disconnect from an organisation

Pro and Business+ subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

By default, only workspace owners and admins can disconnect from organisations, but they can allow all members to take this action by granting them permission to approve and manage Slack Connect channels.

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click on Workspace settings.
  3. Below Administration in the left sidebar, select Slack Connect connections. If you don’t see the left sidebar, click on Menu in the top-left corner to find it.
  4. Click on the  three dots icon next to the organisation that you’d like to disconnect from.
  5. Click on Disconnect [organization name], then Disconnect to confirm.

Org owners and org admins can disconnect from an organisation:

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organisation settings.
  3. Click on Slack Connect in the left sidebar, then Connections.
  4. Next to the organisation that you’d like to disconnect from, click on the
     three dots icon.
  5. Click on Disconnect [organization name], then Disconnect to confirm.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners (Pro and Business+)
    Org owners and org admins (Enterprise Grid)
  • Available on paid subscriptions