Archive a channel

Archiving a channel removes it from the list of active conversations in your Slack workspace. The channel isn’t open for new activity, but the history is retained for easy browsing and searching.

Looking to delete a channel? Visit Delete a channel.

What to expect

  • The  archive icon will appear next to the channel name
  • Members will be removed from the channel (public channels only)
  • Slackbot will notify channel members to let them know it was archived
  • Members can still browse the conversation history in Slack
  • Messages from the archived channel will appear in search results
  • Apps connected to the channel will be disabled

Note: The #general channel cannot be archived.


Archive a channel

Desktop

iOS

Android

  1. Click the  gear icon to open the Channel Settings menu.
  2. Select Additional options.
  3. Click Archive this channel.
  1. Tap the channel name in the header to view the channel details menu.
  2. Tap Archive.
  1. Tap the channel name in the header to view the channel details menu.
  2. Tap Archive under the Advanced section.
  3. On the next screen, tap Archive to confirm.

Tip: To archive a shared channel, you'll need to stop sharing it. Learn how on the Standard and Plus plans, or on Enterprise Grid

Note: Workspace Admins can restrict members' ability to archive channels. If you don't see this option, contact an Admin for help.


Unarchive a channel

If you change your mind, you can unarchive a channel. Keep in mind that members are removed from archived public channels, but they'll be retained in private channels if they're restored. Here's how to unarchive a channel:

  1. From your desktop, click the Channels header at the top of your list of channels.
  2. Click Show: All channels and select Archived channels from the drop-down menu.
    Screen_Shot_2017-06-20_at_4.38.21_PM.png
  3. Choose a channel from the list to open the channel history. 
  4. Click the  gear icon and select Unarchive #channelname

Note: Channel names cannot repeat across archived or active channels. If you'd like to reuse the name of an archived channel, you'll need to unarchive and rename the channel to something else.

Who can use this feature?
  • By default, all members except for guests can use this feature
  • FreeStandardPlus, and Enterprise Grid