Archive or delete a channel

When you wrap up a project, you can archive a channel if it's no longer needed. Archived channels are closed to new activity, but the entire message history is retained within your workspace and remains searchable. To permanently remove a channel and all its messages from a workspace, workspace owners and workspace admins can delete it.

Note: To archive or delete a Slack Connect channel, you’ll first need to remove external organisations from the channel.


Archive or unarchive a channel

By default, members (but not guests) can archive or unarchive a channel, but owners and admins can restrict this. If you can’t see these options, find a workspace owner or admin to ask for help.

Archive a channel

Desktop

iOS

Android

  1. Open the channel you'd like to archive.
  2. Click on the channel name in the conversation header. 
  3. Click on Settings, then Archive channel for everyone.
  4. Click on Archive channel to confirm.
  1. From the channel, tap the channel name at the top.
  2. Tap  Additional options.
  3. Tap Archive channel.
  4. Tap Archive to confirm.
  1. From the channel, tap  Details in the top right.
  2. Tap Archive.
  3. Tap Archive to confirm.

Note: Unlike other Slack channels, the #general channel can't be archived, so it won't include an archive option. 

Unarchive a channel

If you change your mind, you can unarchive a channel. If the channel is private, the channel members will be retained, but if it's public, the former members will not be restored. 

  1. From your desktop, click  File browser at the top of your left sidebar. If you don't see this option, click on  More to find it.
  2. Search for and select the channel, or click  Filter and select Archived channels from the Channel type drop-down menu.
  3. Select the channel that you’d like to unarchive from the list.
  4. Click on the channel name in the conversation header.
  5. Click on Settings, then click on  Unarchive this channel.

Tip: Channel names can't be repeated. To reuse the name of an archived channel, you'll need to unarchive it and rename the channel.


Delete a channel 

Only workspace owners and workspace admins can delete active or archived channels (except for the #general channel). If you can't delete a channel, find a workspace owner or admin to ask for help. Deleting a channel is permanent, so make sure that you proceed with care.

Delete an active channel 

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you'd like to delete. 
  2. Click on the channel name in the conversation header.
  3. Click on Settings, then Delete channel.
  4. Select Delete this channel.
  5. Tick the box next to Yes, permanently delete the channel, then click on Delete channel.


Delete an archived channel 

  1. Click   Channel browser at the top of your left sidebar. If you don't see this option, click  More to find it.
  2. Search for and select a channel, or click  Filter and select Archived channels from the Channel type drop-down menu.
  3. Select the channel that you’d like to delete from the list.
  4. Click on the channel name in the conversation header.
  5. Click on Settings, then Delete this channel.
  6. Tick the box next to Yes, permanently delete the channel, then click on Delete channel.
Who can use this feature?
  • By default, all members (except guests) can archive a channel. Only workspace owners/admins can delete a channel.
  • Available on all subscriptions