Stop sharing channels with another organization

If you use shared channels to collaborate with external vendors, teams, contractors, or businesses, you may need to do some channel maintenance from time to time. Whether a specific channel is no longer needed, or you'd like to stop collaborating with another organization altogether, learn how to stop sharing channels:


Who can disconnect shared channels?

  • Standard and Plus plans: Workspace Owners, Workspace Admins, and anyone else they've allowed to manage shared channels can disconnect them.
  • Enterprise Grid plan: Org Owners, Org Admins, and anyone else they've allowed to manage shared channels can disconnect them.


What to expect

Here's what to keep in mind when disconnecting shared channels:

  • The organization that created the channel can continue using it. The other organization will get an archived version of the channel.
  • Files shared by members of the other organization will no longer be viewable or searchable in your workspace.


Disconnect individual shared channels

If you no longer need to use a specific shared channel, you can stop sharing it. This won’t impact your ability to communicate with the same organization in other shared channels. As long as your organizations continue sharing at least one channel, members of each organization can still send each other direct messages.

Stop sharing a channel

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you’d like to stop sharing.
  2. Click  Details in the top right.
  3. Click Organizations.
  4. Hover over the organization you’d like to stop sharing the channel with and click the  three dots icon.
  5. Click Remove.
  6. To confirm, click Remove Organization.


Disconnect all shared channels 

If you no longer need to work with another organization, you can stop sharing all channels with them. All the channels you share between your organizations will disconnect, and members of each organization will no longer be able to send each other direct messages.

Stop sharing all channels with an organization 

Standard and Plus plans

Enterprise Grid plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage shared channels.
  3. Click the  three dots icon next to the organization you want to disconnect from.
  4. Select Disconnect [organization name].
  5. To confirm, click Disconnect.
  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click   Channels in the left sidebar, then choose External Sharing.
  4. Click the  three dots icon next to an organization.
  5. Choose Disconnect [organization name].
  6. To confirm, click Disconnect.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins, Org Owners/Admins, and members with permission to manage shared channels
  • Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans