Disconnect from an organisation

If you use Slack Connect to work with people outside your company, you can disconnect from an organisation at any time to end all communication in Slack.

What to expect

  • All channels and direct messages (DMs) shared between your organisations will disconnect and members won’t be able to communicate in them.
  • Each affected channel will be archived for the invited organisation, but still usable by the channel owner. DMs will be archived for all participants, with all message history intact.
  • Files shared in channels and DMs by people from other organisations will no longer be accessible.

Note: Instead of disconnecting, you can stop sharing specific channels with other organisations, if you like.

Disconnect from an organisation

Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

Workspace owners, workspace admins and any members with permission to manage Slack Connect for channels can disconnect from an organisation:

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings and administration from the menu, then click Manage Slack Connect.
  3. Click on the  three dots icon next to the organisation that you’d like to disconnect from.
  4. Click on Disconnect [organization name], then Disconnect to confirm.

Org owners and org admins can disconnect from an organisation:

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organisation settings.
  3. Click on Slack Connect in the left sidebar, then Connections.
  4. Next to the organisation that you’d like to disconnect from, click on the  three dots icon.
  5. Click on Disconnect [organization name], then Disconnect to confirm.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners/admins and members with permission (Standard and Plus), org owners/admins (Enterprise Grid)
  • Available on paid subscriptions