Stop sharing a channel with another organisation

If you use Slack Connect to work with people outside your company, you can stop sharing a channel with another organisation at any time. No other channels or direct messages with people from that organisation will be affected. 

What to expect

  • To stop sharing a channel, the channel owner can remove other organisations, and invited organisations can remove themselves.
  • The channel owner can continue using the channel, but it’ll be archived for removed organisations. Files added to the channel by members of other organisations will no longer be accessible.
  • If you share at least one other channel with an organisation, members can continue to exchange direct messages (DMs). If you no longer share any channels, members can invite each other to communicate in DMs.

Tip: To end all communication in Slack with an organisation that you’ve been working with, find out how to disconnect.

Stop sharing a channel

  1. From your desktop, open the channel that you want to stop sharing.
  2. Click on the  details icon in the top right.
  3. Click Organisations.
  4. Hover over the organisation that you’d like to remove and click on the  three dots icon.
  5. Click on Remove, then Remove organisation to confirm.

Note: If your organisation owns the channel, repeat the steps above for each external organisation that you’d like to remove.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners/admins and members with permission (Standard and Plus), org owners/admins and members with permission (Enterprise Grid).
  • Available on paid subscriptions