Manage who can notify a channel or workspace

By default, all members can notify a channel or workspace by using @channel, @here and @everyone mentions. If they’d like to, owners and admins can adjust these settings in their workspace or Enterprise Grid organisation.

Available permissions

  • Owners can choose who can use @channel and @here.
  • Owners can choose who can use @everyone in the #general channel.
  • Owners and admins can choose if a warning message will display when someone uses @channel, @here or @everyone in a channel with at least six members.


Manage messaging permissions

Bear in mind that these permissions are applied across a workspace or Enterprise Grid org, and not to specific channels.

Free, Pro and Business+ subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click on Workspace settings.
  3. Click on the Permissions tab.
  4. Next to Messaging, click Expand.
  5. Open the drop-down menus to select your settings.
  6. Click Save.

Org level

Org owners can set a policy for every workspace in their org using the steps below.

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click on Organisation settings.
  3. Click on  Settings from the left column, then select Organisation policies.
  4. Click on the Permissions tab.
  5. Next to Messaging restrictions, click on Add policy.
  6. Open the drop-down menus to select your settings.
  7. Click on Save policy, then select Create policy to confirm.

Workspace level

If an org policy hasn’t been set, workspace owners and workspace admins can adjust messaging permissions using the steps below.
  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click on Workspace settings.
  3. Click on the Permissions tab.
  4. Next to Messaging, click Expand.
  5. Open the drop-down menus to select your settings.
  6. Click Save.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners and org owners can set permissions for this feature. Workspace admins have limited access.
  • Available on all subscriptions