Manage join and leave messages

In Slack, messages are shown when someone joins or leaves a channel to let other members know who's coming and going.  Workspace Owners and Admins can manage these messages and choose to turn them off if they'd like.

Screen_Shot_2019-05-31_at_12.22.57_PM.png


How join and leave messages work

Free, Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

By default, messages are shown when someone joins or leaves a channel. Smaller groups might find these messages helpful, but larger groups might prefer to hide them. If you're a Workspace Owner or Admin, use the steps below to manage join and leave messages for your workspace. 

Manage join and leave messages

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Scroll down to the Join & leave messages section and click Expand.
  4. Tick or untick the box next to Show a message when people join or leave channels.  
  5. Click Save.


If join and leave messages are turned off

👀Messages are displayed... 

  • When someone joins a public or private channel 
  • If someone leaves a private channel


🙈Messages aren't displayed...

  • When someone joins a public channel with more than 20 members
  • If someone leaves a public channel 
  • If someone's account is deactivated 
On Enterprise Grid, it's not possible to manage join and leave messages.


👀Messages are displayed...

  • When someone joins a public channel with fewer than 20 members or a private channel with fewer than 100 members
  • If someone leaves a private channel


🙈Messages aren't displayed...

  • When someone joins a public channel with more than 20 members or a private channel with more than 100 members
  • If someone leaves a public channel 
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners and workspace admins
  • Free, Standard and Plus subscriptions