Manage permissions for message editing and deletion

By default, all members can edit and delete their own messages. If they'd like, workspace owners and admins can change these permissions. This is what they can adjust:

Tip: Restricting the ability to edit or delete messages may impact how members communicate. Consider the pros and cons of editing and deleting for your team's needs.

 

Adjust the timeframe for editing messages

Free, Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

Workspace owners and admins can choose from the following options to allow members to edit a message: at any time, never or within a specific time period after sending it. 

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Click on the Permissions tab at the top of the page.
  4. Next to Message editing & deletion, click on Expand.
  5. Under Allow editing, select how long members will have to edit their messages.
  6. Click Save.

Org level

Org owners and admins can set an org policy to determine message editing permissions for every workspace in their org. They can choose to allow members to edit a message at any time, never or within a specific time period after sending it.

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organisation settings.
  3. Click on  Settings in the left sidebar, then select Organisation policies.
  4. Click on the Permissions tab.
  5. Next to Message editing & deletion, click on Add policy.
  6. Under Allow editing, select how long members will have to edit their messages.
  7. Click on Save policy, then Create policy to confirm.


Workspace level

If an org policy hasn't been set, workspace owners and admins can choose to allow members to edit a message at any time, never or within a specific time period after sending it. 

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Click on the Permissions tab at the top of the page.
  4. Next to Message editing & deletion, click on Expand.
  5. Under Allow editing, select how long members will have to edit their messages.
  6. Click Save.

Note: If you select Never, this change will immediately take effect, and members will no longer be able to edit their messages. 

 

Choose who can delete messages

Free, Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

Workspace owners can decide who can delete messages – either everyone or only workspace owners and admins. 

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Click on the Permissions tab at the top of the page.
  4. Next to Message editing & deletion, click on Expand.
  5. Under People who can delete messages, choose which members can delete messages.
  6. Click Save.

Org level

Org owners can set an org policy to determine message deletion permissions for every workspace in their org. They can decide who can delete messages – either everyone or only workspace owners and admins.

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organisation settings.
  3. Click on  Settings in the left sidebar, then select Organisation policies.
  4. Click on the Permissions tab.
  5. Next to Message editing & deletion, click on Add policy.
  6. Tick the box to allow only administrators to delete messages.
  7. Click on Save policy, then Create policy to confirm.


Workspace level

If an org policy hasn’t been set, workspace owners can decide who can delete messages – either everyone or only workspace owners and admins.

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Click on the Permissions tab at the top of the page.
  4. Next to Message editing & deletion, click on Expand.
  5. Under People who can delete messages, choose which members can delete messages.
  6. Click Save.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners/admins and org owners/admins
  • Free, Standard, Plus and Enterprise Grid subscriptions