Stop sharing channels with external organisations

If you no longer need to work with another organisation in a shared channel, here's what you can do:

  • Remove external organisations if your organisation owns the channel.
  • Remove your organisation if you’re a member of an invited organisation.
  • Disconnect from an organisation when you'd like to stop sharing all channels between your organisations.


What to expect

There are a few things to keep in mind when you’d like to stop sharing a channel with an external organisation:

  • The organisation that owns the channel can continue using it. The channel will be archived for external organisations, and they will not be able to unarchive it.
  • Files shared by members of external organisations will no longer be viewable or searchable in your workspace.
  • As long as organisations continue sharing at least one channel, members from those organisations can still send each other direct messages.
  • The organisation that owns the channel can send a new invitation to reconnect a channel with an external organisation. If all channels have been disconnected from an external organisation, the organisation that owns the channel will need to resend an invitation for each channel that they’d like to reconnect to.


Remove an organisation from a shared channel

You can remove external organisations from any shared channels that you own. If you don’t own the channel, you can only remove your own organisation, and any remaining organisations can continue using it.

  1. From your desktop, open the channel that you’d like to stop sharing with an external organisation.
  2. Click  Details in the upper-right corner.
  3. Click Organisations.
  4. Hover over the organisation that you’d like to remove from the channel. Then click the  three dots icon.
  5. Click Remove.
  6. To confirm, click Remove organisation.

Note: Repeat the steps above for each external organisation that you'd like to remove from a channel.


Disconnect all shared channels with an organisation

If you no longer need to work with another organisation, you can stop sharing all channels with them.

Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage shared channels.
  3. Click the  three dots icon next to the organisation that you’d like to stop sharing channels with.
  4. Select Disconnect [organisation name].
  5. To confirm, click Disconnect.
  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organisation settings.
  3. Click on  Channels in the left sidebar, then choose External sharing.
  4. Click the  three dots icon next to the organisation that you’d like to stop sharing channels with.
  5. Choose Disconnect [organisation name].
  6. To confirm, click Disconnect.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners/admins, org owners/admins and members with permission to manage shared channels
  • Standard, Plus and Enterprise Grid subscriptions