Manage workflow collaborators

Who can use this feature?
  • Members who collaborate on workflows
  • Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans

Workflows are automated multi-step tasks or processes you set up in Slack — no coding required! — that start in your workspace. They can run right in Slack, or connect with other tools and services. 

If you'd like to grant other members of your workspace permission to manage a workflow you created, you can add them as collaborators. Once someone has been added as a collaborator, they can manage other collaborators along with the workflow itself.

What you'll learn


Workflow collaborator permissions

What collaborators can do

Anyone you add as a collaborator on a workflow has the same permissions that you do as the workflow creator. Here's what workflow collaborators can do:

  • Change a workflow's name and custom icon
  • Edit or remove workflow steps
  • Unpublish or delete a workflow
  • Manage workflow collaborators


Who can manage workflow collaborators

  • Any collaborator on a workflow can add and remove other collaborators, including admins. 
  • Workspace Owners and Admins can add themselves as collaborators on any published workflow in their workspace. If admins add themselves as collaborators on workflows in private channels they don't belong to, they won't be able to see the name of the channel. 

Tip: Only collaborators can view a workflow before it’s published.


Put what you've learned into practice

Add collaborators

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Tools from the menu, then click Workflow Builder.
  3. Click the Your Workflows tab at the top of the screen, then select a workflow from the list.
  4. Click the Settings tab.
  5. Next to Collaborators, click Manage.
  6. Search for people you’d like to add, then select their names from the drop-down menu. Slackbot will notify each person to let them know they’ve been added as a collaborator.
  7. When you’re done, click Close.


Remove collaborators

If a teammate no longer needs to collaborate on a workflow, you can remove them.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Tools from the menu, then select Workflow Builder.
  3. Click the Your Workflows tab at the top of the screen, then select a workflow from the list.
  4. Click the Settings tab.
  5. Next to Collaborators, click Manage.
  6. Click Remove next to the name of any collaborator.
  7. When you’re done, click Close.

Tip: If you remove yourself as a collaborator by mistake, you can ask another collaborator to add you back.


Next up: Publish your workflow

Now that you’ve added collaborators, you’re ready to publish your workflow so people in your workspace can use it.