Remove your organisation or other organisations from a channel

Slack Connect lets you work with people outside your company. When a project comes to an end, you may no longer need to work together in a specific channel. If another company owns the channel, you can remove your organisation, but if your company owns the channel, you can remove other organisations.

What to expect

  • The company that owns the channel can continue using it. Organisations that are removed or remove themselves will keep an archived copy of the channel’s contents.
  • Files added to the channel by people from other companies will no longer be accessible.
  • As long as you remain connected in at least one other channel, people from your companies can continue to exchange direct messages (DMs). Otherwise, they can invite each other to communicate in DMs.

Tip: To end all communication in Slack with an organisation that you’ve been working with, find out how to disconnect.

Remove organisations from a channel

  1. From your desktop, open the channel that you’d like to remove your organisation or other organisations from.
  2. Click on the channel name in the conversation header.
  3. Click on the Settings tab.
  4. Hover over Slack Connect, then click on Edit.
  5. Hover over the organisation that you’d like to remove and click on the  three dots icon.
  6. Click on Remove, then Remove organisation to confirm.

Note: If your company owns the channel, repeat the steps above for each organisation that you'd like to remove.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners/admins and members with permission (Pro and Business+), org owners/admins and members with permission (Enterprise Grid)
  • Available on paid subscriptions