Stop sharing channels with another organisation

If you use shared channels to collaborate with external vendors, teams, contractors or businesses, you may need to do some channel maintenance from time to time. Whether a specific channel is no longer needed, or you'd like to stop collaborating with another organisation altogether, learn how to stop sharing channels:


Who can disconnect shared channels?

  • On the Standard and Plus subscriptions, workspace ownersworkspace admins and anyone else they’ve allowed to manage shared channels can disconnect them.
  • On the Enterprise Grid subscription, org owners, org admins and anyone else they’ve allowed to manage shared channels can disconnect them.


Disconnect individual shared channels

If a specific channel is no longer needed, like when a project ends, you can stop sharing it. This action won't have an impact on your ability to collaborate with the other organisation in other shared channels.

What to expect

  • You won't be able to share this channel again.
  • The organisation that created the channel can continue using it. The other organisation will get an archived copy of the channel's contents. 
  • Files shared by members of the other organisation will no longer be viewable or searchable.

  • Members of each organisation can still direct message each other. 


How to stop sharing a channel

Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration from the menu. 
  3. Click Manage shared channels.
  4. Find the organisation you're sharing the channel with. Click the  three dots icon, then View shared channels.
  5. Find the channel, then click Stop sharing this channel.
  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration from the menu.
  3. Click Manage shared channels.
  4. Find the organisation you're sharing the channel with. Click the  three dots icon, then View shared channels.
  5. Find the channel, then click Stop sharing this channel.


Disconnect all shared channels

If a partnership or relationship comes to a close, you can stop sharing channels with another organisation to end all collaboration. 

What to expect 

  • All the channels you currently share with the other organisation will disconnect.
  • Members of each organisation can no longer direct message each other.
  • Files shared by members of the other organisation will no longer be viewable or searchable.

  • This action can’t be undone and you can't share these channels again later.


How to stop sharing with an organisation 

Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Manage shared channels from the menu.
  3. Find the organisation you're sharing the channel with. Click the  three dots icon, then Stop sharing with [organisation name].
  4. Click Stop sharing to confirm.
  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Organisation settings from the menu.
  3. Under   Organisation, choose External Sharing.
  4. Click the  three dots icon next to an organisation.
  5. Choose Stop sharing with [organisation name].
  6. Click Stop Sharing to confirm.
Who can use this feature?
  • Owners and Admins (default)
  • Standard, Plus and Enterprise Grid subscriptions