Deactivate your Slack account

Ready to leave a workspace for good? You can deactivate your account at any time.

What to expect

  • If you're a member of multiple workspaces, you'll have an account per workspace, so you'll need to deactivate each one separately.
  • Your messages and files won’t be deleted. If allowed by your workspace owners and workspace admins, you can delete messages and files that you’ve added before deactivating your account.
  • If you're the primary workspace owner, you won't see the option to deactivate your account – you'll need to transfer primary ownership to someone else first.
  • If you installed apps to the workspace, they may be disabled – but a workspace owner will be able to manage and re-enable them.

Note: In an Enterprise Grid org, you won’t see the option to deactivate your account if membership is required for your workspace or if you’re a guest. We recommend contacting an owner or admin for help.


Deactivate your account

  1. From your desktop, click on your profile picture in the top right.
  2. Select View profile from the menu.
  3. Click  More, then select Account settings.
  4. Scroll down to Deactivate account, then click Deactivate your account.
  5. Enter your password and select Confirm password.
  6. Click on Yes, deactivate my account


Your account will be deactivated immediately. If you'd like to return to this workspace in the future, a workspace owner or workspace admin will need to reactivate your account.


Delete your profile information

To delete your profile information, contact the workspace primary owner after deactivating your account. Workspace primary owners can contact Slack on your behalf to have your profile information removed.