Manage permissions for message editing and deletion

By default, all members can edit and delete their own messages and thread replies. If they'd like, Workspace Owners and Admins can change these permissions. Here's what they can adjust:

Tip: Restricting the ability to edit or delete messages may impact how members communicate. Consider the pros and cons of editing and deleting for your team's needs.

 

Adjust the timeframe for editing messages

Workspace Owners and Admins can choose from the following options to allow members to edit a message: any time, never, up to one minute, or up to one week after sending it. 

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Click the Permissions tab.
  4. Next to Message Editing & Deletion, click Expand.
  5. Under Allow editing, select how long members will have to edit their messages.
  6. Click Save to finish.

Note: If you select Never, this change will immediately take effect and members will no longer be able to edit their messages. 

 

Choose who can delete messages

Workspace Owners can decide who can delete messages — either everyone or only Workspace Owners and Admins. 

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Click the Permissions tab.
  4. Next to Message Editing & Deletion, click Expand.
  5. Under People who can delete messages, choose which members can delete messages.
  6. Click Save to finish.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Admins
  • Free, Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans