Deactivate a member’s account

Over time, people may come and go from Slack. Some may leave on their own, but as an owner or admin, you have the ability to deactivate members' accounts. The option to deactivate accounts is available only on desktop and not supported from our mobile apps.

Bear in mind

  • Your role in Slack will determine your deactivation permissions.
  • Some apps might be disabled when certain accounts are deactivated.
  • You can reactivate an account later on if you change your mind. 
  • People won’t be notified when their accounts are deactivated, nor will their messages or files be deleted. But they will be signed out of your workspace(s) on all devices and unable to sign back in.

Tip: see our Fair Billing Policy to learn how deactivated member accounts affect billing. 


Who can deactivate accounts

Your role in Slack will determine your deactivation permissions. Use the table below to review your permissions and read more about roles in Slack.

Free, Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

  Workspace Admins Workspace owners Workspace Primary Owner
Deactivate members and guests
Deactivate Workspace Admins  
Deactivate Workspace Owners    
Deactivate a Workspace Primary Owner*      


*No one can deactivate the Workspace Primary Owner. To deactivate this person, the Primary Owner must transfer ownership to someone else.

 

Org-level permissions 

  Org Admins Org Owners Org Primary Owner
Deactivate members and guests
Deactivate Workspace Admins and Owners  
Deactivate a Workspace Primary Owner*      
Deactivate Org Owners and Admins      
Deactivate a Primary Org Owner*      


*No one can deactivate the Org Primary Owner or a Workspace Primary Owner. To deactivate these accounts, they must transfer ownership to someone else.


Workspace-level permissions

  Workspace Admins Workspace owners Workspace Primary Owner
Deactivate members and guests
Deactivate Workspace Admins  
Deactivate Workspace Owners    
Deactivate a Workspace Primary Owner**      


**No one can deactivate the Workspace Primary Owner. To deactivate this person, the Primary Owner must transfer ownership to someone else.


Deactivate an account

Free, Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

Review the permissions above, then use the steps below to deactivate someone's account.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Manage members.
  3. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you want to deactivate.
  4. Select Deactivate account.

Review the permissions above, then use the steps below to remove someone from a workspace or to deactivate an account.


Remove someone from a workspace

On Enterprise Grid, accounts can’t be deactivated at the workspace level, but people can be removed from workspaces. Keep in mind that anyone you remove from your workspace will remain part of the Enterprise Grid org.

Here’s how to remove someone:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Manage members.
  3. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you want to remove.
  4. Select Remove from workspace.


Deactivate an account

On Enterprise Grid, account deactivation happens at the org level. Anyone you deactivate will be signed out of all workspaces and removed from your org. Use the steps below to deactivate an account:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Organisation settings.
  3. Choose Members under Organisation.
  4. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you want to deactivate.
  5. Select Deactivate.

Note: You can still access your direct message (DM) history with a member who’s been deactivated. Click Direct messages and search for the deactivated member’s name to view your DM history.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners/admins or org owners/admins
  • Free, Standard, Plus and Enterprise Grid subscriptions