Delete a channel

To permanently remove a channel and all its messages from a workspace, workspace owners and admins can delete it.

Bear in mind

  • Workspace owners and admins can delete any channel that they've joined, except for the #general channel. If you're not an owner or admin, contact one for help.
  • To delete a shared channel, stop sharing the channel first. 
  • Files from a deleted channel may still be accessible in your workspace if they've been shared in other conversations – you can delete them if needed.
  • If you don't want to permanently delete a channel, consider archiving it instead to preserve its message history.

Note: on the Enterprise Grid subscription, you can delete channels from the org dashboard. Learn more about channel management tools.

 

Delete a channel

Warning: Deleting a channel is permanent. Proceed with care.

  1. From your desktop, open the channel that you want to delete. You must join the channel if you haven't already.
  2. Click  Details in the top right.
  3. Click  More, then Additional options.
  4. Select Delete this channel.
  5. Tick the box next to Yes, permanently delete this channel, then click Delete channel.

Note: If you don't see the option to delete a channel, contact a workspace owner or admin for help.

 

Delete an archived channel

Archived channels remain part of your workspace, but they're not open for new activity. Here's how to delete an archived channel:

  1. From your desktop, click on the  plus icon next to Channels in your left sidebar.
  2. Select Browse channels.
  3. Click  Filter, then Archived channels from the menu.
  4. Click on the channel that you’d like to delete to open it.
  5. Click  Unarchive
  6. Click  More, then Additional options.
  7. Tick the box next to Yes, permanently delete this channel, then click Delete channel.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners and workspace admins
  • FreeStandardPlus and Enterprise Grid subscriptions