Manage join and leave messages

In Slack, messages are shown when someone joins or leaves a channel to let other members know who's coming and going.  Workspace Owners and Admins can manage these messages and choose to turn them off if they'd like.

Screen_Shot_2019-05-31_at_12.22.57_PM.png


How join and leave messages work

Free, Standard, and Plus plans

Enterprise Grid plan

By default, messages are shown when someone joins or leaves a channel. Smaller groups might find these messages helpful, but larger groups might prefer to hide them. If you're a Workspace Owner or Admin, use the steps below to manage join and leave messages for your workspace. 

Manage join and leave messages

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Scroll down to the Join & Leave Messages section and click Expand.
  4. Check or uncheck the box next to Show a message when people join or leave channels.  
  5. Click Save.


If join and leave messages are turned off

👀Messages are displayed... 

  • When someone joins a public or private channel 
  • If someone leaves a private channel


🙈Messages aren't displayed...

  • When someone joins a public channel with more than 20 members
  • If someone leaves a public channel 
  • If someone's account is deactivated 
On Enterprise Grid, it's not possible to manage join and leave messages. Messages will only show when someone joins a channel — leave messages will not display at any time.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins
  • Free, Standard, and Plus plans