Stop sharing a channel with another organization

If you use Slack Connect to work with people outside your company, you can stop sharing a channel with another organization at any time. No other channels or direct messages with people from that organization will be affected. 

What to expect

  • To stop sharing a channel, the channel owner can remove other organizations, and invited organizations can remove themselves.
  • The channel owner can continue using the channel, but it’ll be archived for removed organizations. Files added to the channel by members of other organizations will no longer be accessible.
  • If you share at least one other channel with an organization, members can continue to exchange direct messages (DMs). If you no longer share any channels, members can invite each other to communicate in DMs.

Tip: To end all communication in Slack with an organization you’ve been working with, learn how to disconnect.

Stop sharing a channel

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you’d like to stop sharing.
  2. Click the  details icon in the top right.
  3. Click Organizations.
  4. Hover over the organization you’d like to remove and click the  three dots icon.
  5. Click Remove, then Remove Organization to confirm.

Note: If your organization owns the channel, repeat the steps above for each external organization you'd like to remove.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins and members with permission (Standard and Plus), Org Owners/Admins and members with permission (Enterprise Grid)
  • Available on paid plans