Disconnect from an organization

If you use Slack Connect to work with people outside your company, you can disconnect from an organization at any time to end all communication in Slack.

What to expect

  • All channels and direct messages (DMs) shared between your organizations will disconnect and members won't be able to communicate in them.
  • Each affected channel will be archived for the invited organization, but still usable by the channel owner. DMs will be archived for all participants, with all message history intact.
  • Files shared in channels and DMs by people from other organizations will no longer be accessible.

Note: Instead of disconnecting, you can stop sharing specific channels with other organizations if you'd like.

Disconnect from an organization

Pro and Business+ plans

Enterprise Grid plan

Workspace Owners, Workspace Admins, and members with permission to manage Slack Connect for channels can disconnect from an organization:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage Slack Connect.
  3. Click the  three dots icon next to the organization you’d like to disconnect from.
  4. Click Disconnect [organization name], then Disconnect to confirm.

Org Owners and Org Admins can disconnect from an organization:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click Slack Connect in the left sidebar, then Connections.
  4. Next to the organization you'd like to disconnect from, click the  three dots icon.
  5. Click Disconnect [organization name], then Disconnect to confirm.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins and members with permission (Pro and Business+), Org Owners/Admins (Enterprise Grid)
  • Available on paid plans