Create a user group

A user group is a group of members in a workspace who often need to be notified at once. You can mention a group's unique name — for example, @managers — the same way you @mention another member of your workspace. 

What to expect

  • When you mention a user group, you’ll notify everyone in the group.
  • You can set default channels when creating a user group so members are added to those channels automatically, or add the user group to channels later the same way you would add an individual member.
  • In an Enterprise Grid org, user groups are unique to each workspace, and can’t be accessed across all workspaces in the org.
  • If you don’t see the option to create or edit user groups, an administrator has limited this feature to Workspace Owners and Admins only.

 

Create a user group

  1. From your desktop, click the   More Items menu in the top right corner.
  2. Select   User Groups from the menu.
  3. Click the   Create a user group icon.
  4. Choose a name, handle, and purpose.
  5. Select default channels that members of the user group will be added to. Then, click Next.
  6. Under Add members, search for and select the members you’d like to add.
  7. When you’re done, click Create Group.

Keep in mind that user group names must be unique. If a name is already in use as a channel name, display name, or another user group's name, it won't be available.

Note: Guests don't have full access to all channels in your workspace, so they can’t be added to user groups.

 

Edit a user group

  1. From your desktop, click the   More Items menu in the top right.
  2. Select User Groups from the menu.
  3. Hover over the user group you want to edit and click the   Edit user groups icon.

Then, choose from the following:

  • Edit group members: add or remove a user group’s members.
  • Edit group details: edit a user group's name, handle, purpose, or default channels.
  • Deactivate group: deactivate a user group.
  • Enable group: reactivate a user group that’s been deactivated.

Note: When you deactivate a user group, you won’t be able to mention the user group’s handle or view its members. Deactivating a user group does not delete it from your list of groups, and all members will remain in the group unless removed.

 

Browse user groups and view members

From desktop, you can find a full list of user groups and view their members:

  1. Click the   More Items menu in the top right corner.
  2. Select User Groups from the menu.
  3. Select any group to view its members.
Who can use this feature?
  • By default, only Workspace Owners and Admins can create and edit user groups, but they can make this feature available to all members 
  • StandardPlus, and Enterprise Grid plans