Disconnect from an organization

You can disconnect from an organization to end all communication with them in Slack Connect channels and direct messages (DMs). 

Note: Instead of disconnecting, you can stop sharing specific channels with other organizations if you'd like.

What to expect

Depending on the permissions in your Slack Connect channels, here's what to expect when you disconnect from an organization:

  • Invited organizations with permission to post, invite and more, will retain an archived copy of the channel, but those with permission only to post will not.
  • The disconnected channel will remain usable by the channel owner.
  • DMs will be archived for all participants, with all message history intact.
  • Files shared in channels and DMs by people from other organizations will no longer be accessible.

 

Disconnect from an organization

Pro and Business+ plans

Enterprise Grid plan

By default, only Workspace Owners and Admins can disconnect from organizations, but they can allow all members to take this action by granting them permission to approve and manage Slack Connect channels.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage Slack Connect.
  3. Click the  three dots icon next to the organization you’d like to disconnect from.
  4. Click Disconnect [organization name], then Disconnect to confirm.

Org Owners and Org Admins can disconnect from an organization:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click Slack Connect in the left sidebar, then Connections.
  4. Next to the organization you'd like to disconnect from, click the  three dots icon.
  5. Click Disconnect [organization name], then Disconnect to confirm.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins by default (Pro and Business+)
  • Org Owners/Admins (Enterprise Grid)
  • Available on paid plans