Stop sharing channels with external organizations

If you no longer need to work with another organization in a shared channel, here's what you can do:

  • Remove external organizations if your organization owns the channel.
  • Remove your organization if you’re a member of an invited organization.
  • Disconnect from an organization when you'd like to stop sharing all channels between your organizations.


What to expect

There are a few things to keep in mind when you’d like to stop sharing a channel with an external organization:

  • The organization that owns the channel can continue using it. The channel will be archived for external organizations and they will not be able to unarchive it.
  • Files shared by members of external organizations will no longer be viewable or searchable in your workspace.
  • As long as organizations continue sharing at least one channel, members from those organizations can still send each other direct messages.
  • The organization that owns the channel can send a new invitation to reconnect a channel with an external organization. If all channels have been disconnected from an external organization, the organization that owns the channel will need to resend an invitation for each channel they’d like to reconnect.


Remove an organization from a shared channel

When you’d like to stop sharing specific channels with an external organization, but continue working with them in some capacity, here’s what you can do:

  • Remove external organizations from any shared channels that you own.
  • If you don’t own the channel, you can only remove your own organization, and any remaining organizations can continue using it.
  1. From your desktop, open the channel you’d like to stop sharing with an external organization.
  2. Click the  details icon in the top right.
  3. Click Organizations.
  4. Hover over the organization you’d like to remove from the channel. Then click the  three dots icon.
  5. Click Remove.
  6. To confirm, click Remove Organization.

Note: Repeat the steps above for each external organization you'd like to remove from a channel.


Disconnect all shared channels with an organization

If you no longer need to work with another organization, you can stop sharing all channels with them.

Standard and Plus plans

Enterprise Grid plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage shared channels.
  3. Click the  three dots icon next to the organization you’d like to stop sharing channels with.
  4. Select Disconnect [organization name].
  5. To confirm, click Disconnect.
  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click   Channels in the left sidebar, then choose External Sharing.
  4. Click the  three dots icon next to the organization you’d like to stop sharing channels with.
  5. Choose Disconnect [organization name].
  6. To confirm, click Disconnect.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins, Org Owners/Admins, and members with permission to manage shared channels
  • Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans