Deactivate your Slack account

Ready to leave a workspace for good? You can deactivate your account at any time.

What to expect

  • If you're a member of multiple workspaces, you'll have an account per workspace, so you'll need to deactivate each one separately.
  • Deactivating your account won't delete messages and files. If allowed by your Workspace Owners and Admins, you can delete messages and files you've added before deactivating your account.
  • If you're the Primary Workspace Owner, you won't see the option to deactivate — you'll need to transfer primary ownership to someone else first.

Note: You won't see the option to deactivate if auto-provisioning is enabled for your workspace, or if you're a Multi-Channel or Single-Channel Guest. We recommend contacting an Owner or Admin for help.


Deactivate your account

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Profile & account from the menu.
  3. Click the  More actions button, then choose Account settings.
  4. Scroll to Deactivate account, then click Deactivate your account.
  5. Enter your password and select Confirm Password.
  6. Click Yes, deactivate my account. If you installed apps to the workspace, they may be disabled — but a Workspace Owner will be able to manage and re-enable them.


Your account will be deactivated immediately. If you'd like to return to this workspace in the future, a Workspace Owner or Admin will need to reactivate your account.


Delete your profile information

To delete your profile information, contact a Workspace Primary Owner after deactivating your account. Workspace Primary Owners can contact Slack on your behalf to have your profile information removed.