Manage workflows that you collaborate on

Who can use this feature?
  • All members with permission to create or collaborate on workflows
  • Standard, Plus and Enterprise Grid subscriptions

If you’ve created a workflow or you've been added as a collaborator, learn how to edit, unpublish or delete a workflow and manage other collaborators. 


Edit a workflow

Change or remove steps

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Tools from the menu, then select Workflow Builder.
  3. At the top of the screen, click on the Your workflows tab.
  4. Next to the workflow you’d like to modify, click the   three dots icon. Then, select Edit.
  5. Click Edit next to the workflow’s trigger or a step, then make changes and click Save
  6. If your workflow is live, click on Publish changes in the top right.

Note: It’s not currently possible to modify how a workflow is launched, but you can change the channel a workflow starts from.

Update a workflow's title or icon

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Tools from the menu, then select Workflow Builder.
  3. At the top of the screen, click on the Your workflows tab.
  4. Next to the workflow you want to change, click the   three dots icon, then select Edit.
  5. Click on the Settings tab.
  6. Click Edit next to the setting you want to change. 
  7. Make changes, then click on Save.


Download workflow form data

If your workflow includes a form, you may want to work with form data outside Slack. To do so, you can download data from any workflow form as a CSV file. If you don't see the option to download form data in the menu, ask a workspace owner or workspace admin for help as they may have disabled access to this feature. 

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Tools from the menu, then select Workflow Builder.
  3. At the top of the screen, click on the Your workflows tab.
  4. Next to the workflow you want to download form data from, click the   three dots icon and select Download form data
  5. If your workflow includes multiple forms, choose one from the drop-down menu. Then, click Download form data
  6. You'll receive a direct message from Slackbot with a link to the file when it's ready.

Note: In workflow form CSV files, the Z at the end of a Submission time zone timestamp indicates the UTC time zone.


Download a workflow file

Download a workflow to save it as a JSON file to your computer. Once you’ve downloaded a workflow file, you can import it to Workflow Builder to create a new workflow automatically.

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Tools from the menu, then select Workflow Builder.
  3. At the top of the screen, click on the Your workflows tab.
  4. Next to the workflow that you want to download, click on the   three dots icon, then select Download a workflow file.
  5. Click on Save.

 

Manage collaborators

If a teammate moves to another department or starts working on another project, you may not need them to collaborate on your workflow anymore. Any collaborator on a workflow can add or remove other collaborators, and you can remove yourself as well.

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Tools from the menu, then select Workflow Builder.
  3. At the top of the screen, click on the Your workflows tab.
  4. Next to a workflow, click on the   three dots icon and select Edit.
  5. Click on the Settings tab.
  6. Next to Collaborators, select Manage.
  7. Open the drop-down menu and click on someone’s name to add them as a collaborator. To remove a collaborator, click Remove next to their name in the list below the drop-down menu.

Tip: If you remove yourself as a collaborator by mistake, ask another collaborator to add you back.

 

Unpublish or delete a workflow

Unpublish a workflow

Unpublish a workflow to remove members’ access to it in a channel. You and other collaborators can view and update an unpublished workflow, then re-publish it for members to start using again.

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Tools from the menu, then select Workflow Builder.
  3. At the top of the screen, click on the Your workflows tab.
  4. Next to the workflow that you want to unpublish, click on the   three dots icon and then click on Edit.
  5. Select Unpublish.


Delete a workflow

If you delete a workflow, it will stop running for anyone currently using it and members will no longer be able to launch it. Deleting a workflow is permanent and cannot be reversed.

  1. From your desktop, click on your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Tools from the menu, then select Workflow Builder.
  3. At the top of the screen, click on the Your workflows tab.
  4. Next to the workflow that you want to delete, click on the   three dots icon and then click on Edit.
  5. Select Delete, then click on Delete again.