Delete a channel

To permanently remove a channel and all its messages from a workspace, owners and admins can delete it.

Keep in mind

  • Workspace Owners and Admins can delete any channel they've joined, except for the #general channel
  • To delete a shared channel, you'll need to stop sharing the channel first. 
  • Deleting a channel will not delete any files shared in the channel.
  • If you don't want to permanently delete a channel, consider archiving it instead to preserve its message history.

Note: On the Plus and Enterprise Grid plans, owners and admins with permission can delete channels with channel management tools.

 

Delete a channel

Warning: Deleting a channel is permanent. Proceed with care.

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you'd like to delete. You must join the channel if you haven't already.
  2. Click the  details icon in the top right.
  3. Click  More, then Additional options.
  4. Select Delete this channel.
  5. Check the box next to Yes, permanently delete this channel, then click Delete Channel.

Note: If you don't see the option to delete a channel, find a Workspace Owner or Admin to ask for help.

 

Delete an archived channel

Archived channels remain part of your workspace, but they're not open for new activity. Here's how to delete an archived channel:

  1. Click the   Channel browser at the top of your left sidebar. If you don't see this option, click  More to find it.
  2. Search for and select a channel, or click  Filter and select Archived channels from the Channel type drop-down menu.
  3. Click on the channel you’d like to delete.
  4. Click the  details icon in the top right.
  5. Click  More, then Delete [#channel name].
  6. Check the box next to Yes, permanently delete this channel, then click Delete Channel.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins
  • FreeStandardPlus, and Enterprise Grid